Free Bird, It’s time to fly on now

Despite this song being recorded before I was even born, I am literally in tears while I type this because of it. You see, the other day I was with RG and some of our other friends and we decided to get a tattoo, cliche and BFF like.

Did you ever have that friend though,  you met them in an ordinary way… yet, without being able to truly explain – you just seemed to know them? It’s confusing at first and you might mistake it, the strength of it for several varied types of feelings but with the help of time and a trusting attitude, the connection becomes clear. Soul Mate. I know people remark soul mates as some sort of relationship goal, and they can be – but I think when you bump into them, it’s not always about a relationship in the traditional sense. Time is a funny thing, when dealing with the cosmos – there isn’t the same linear expectation as we human have grown to expect.

Soulmate relationships are about something WAY deeper than that, traditional human relationship. It’s unconditional, uplifting and easeful, this I know for sure. It’s not effected by miles or time or distractions in-fact I think these soul relationships exist on another plane; as I said, outside of time. I believe that they manifest when you are ready and the two of you in this version of the world reclaim your roles. Supporter, encourager, muse, confidant, wanderluster, burden carrier, and helper to achieve the next level of awareness.

You are drawn to them.

HBTattoo

As I lay down on the cool vinyl covered chair, ready for Bob the tattoo artist to start drawing, Free Bird comes on over the shops speakers.

The tattoo is small and doesn’t take long, but I under the steady vibration of needed have a chance to really listen, really, really listen; to take it in, to FEEL the song. It’s for me. It was on – for me.

We’ve talked about this on multiple occasions, this year has been so tough. SO painful emotionally, too dark and filled with exhausting discourse. Yet, in a strange and quiet way, it’s been a very pure and empowering process. My nine year has been filled with my past. It’s been starting at my truth and forcing me to see it, as it is, with no blinders, judgment or hesitancy. Fully delving into the darkness and drawing out the pieces of me that remain.

I have been processing 18 years of similar pattern. No wonder I have been exhausted.

What we call the beginning is often the end. And to make an end is to make a beginning. The end is where we start from. T.S. Eliot

The 9 year cycle brings you to the end of a complete nine-year cycle of your life. It is a year to complete unfinished business, reach conclusions and tie up loose ends. These actions will help you step into the next nine years of your life without the pressure of unresolved matters of the past pulling you back.

As one door closes another opens, but if you refuse to accept that certain doors really have closed, you will be unable to recognize the new possibilities. It is time to face the absolute reality of your past – and how it is impacting your present, and then decide how you want to create your future. Your reality is not just a matter of where you stand today or where you want to be tomorrow. It is made up of everything that has ever happened to you, everyone you have ever met, anything you have ever done, and any feeling you have ever felt – or denied.  

Where you stand today is the result of where you have been. But before you can progress, you must release yourself emotionally, mentally, or physically, from those aspects which no longer serve a purpose and are chaining you to a point in time that no longer exists. It is time to integrate your past with the present, so that the potential of your future can be seen and felt. This is achieved by accepting the past exactly as it was and by feeling everything about it that you have been unable to feel.  

When I was with RG, getting the tattoo and the song came on = I had this overwhelming sense of personal safety. I felt as authentically myself as I have ever in the last near 20 years and in that moment I feel so sure that I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

If I leave here tomorrow Would you still remember me? For I must be traveling on now ‘Cause there’s too many places I’ve got to see.

‘Cause I’m as free as a bird now,

Lord, I can’t change. Won’t you fly high, free bird, yeah?

Leave a Reply

