..happy new year 2014..

Happy New Year!! 2014 From the beautiful B&B called Majestic Kayaking & Wildlife. Sitting here over looking the inner harbour of Ucluelet BC, drinking fabulously delicious coffee contemplating my day ahead. Hiking over Polar Bear Swimming I think.

We have been here for two days, and as always the west coast did not disappoint with it’s magic. Yesterday we went paddling, as you know it’s one of my favourite things to do.

IMG_1776

We had a guide, which was an interesting element because he was incredibly knowledgable about the local first nations history, landmarks and culture. It added so much for me to be able learn and experience the energy and senses with that type of direction.

IMG_1703

 

Then we celebrated NYE so simply, drinking champagne, some really nice white wine and right on the beach with a bunch of travellers from all over the world. We had a bonfire, watched some fireworks, lit lanterns for luck and had a really blissful evening. Just what I had hoped, simple.

I don’t think Champaign really agree’s with me because we came back to our suite at about eleven and I dozed off 🙂 Ooops..

CG woke me up just before midnight, with a kiss and a promise of great things to come. It was nice with toasted with a wine called Persistence. Kind of fitting give then tenor of our relationship. It’s been anything but easy.

That bottle of wine actually has a great story behind it. The day CG bought it was a fabulous day & it’s sort of funny how that bottle came to be. It was near the end of our day of tasting last summer and let’s just be honest we were hammered. Well I had planned to by that bottle for my friend SRT. She and I are soul sisters and I guess I thought it was fitting, persistence is a good adjective for us. We tend to kick ass 😉 Well it was a $65 dollar bottle so I pulled out my visa to pay and CG stopped me of course and paid for it. On the back of the bottle there is a quote by Calvin Coolidge.

“Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan ‘Press On’ has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.”

~Calvin Coolidge

Well City Guy being the uber brainiac that he is knew and loved the quote – so of course he started to recite it, drunken fool. LOL.  Well about half way through this couple walked up and the guy with them finished it. LOL we all laughed and so began a ridiculously fun and absolutely random evening in Napa, California. The couple was from like South Dakota or somewhere and were so much fun, I haven’t laughter like that in a while. This was one of those rare bender sort of nights, because I actually lost my visa and agreed to take some teens to San Jose to a One Direction Concert the next night.. I know. LOL Poster Child for responsible drinking that night.

Anyways, that was the bottle we opened on New Years.

It was fun and I really couldn’t have asked for a more relaxing, satisfying, soul replenishing experience. It was very good.

We are just heading out to Hike the Wild Pacific trail.

Happy, Happy New Year Readers.

Good tiding and prosperity to you all!

~ Miss D.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

