..first dates..

So in this adventure I have been so poetically calling; Adventures in dating land.. my tongue and cheek blast at Adventures in ZOMBIELAND. Yes that is where my brain goes. and no it doesn’t really make sense.

Since my Match experiment – I have had many, many first dates. My three most memorable, I am pleased to say are still in my life.

Obviously there was Radio guy, my first. He’s has journeyed with me a while now – so much so that we are in a new place of pure friendship and I love it. He is hands down one of my favourite boys and I genuinely love that it’s plutonic. Easy. Free flowing, we have found our niche.

Fort Mac Guy– Lame first date. A walk and a talk & ZERO attraction.

Engineer Guy – Sushi – Good food no spark.

Dealership Guy, Coffee – No attraction, and he has weird boundary issues.

Dirt Bike Guy, Coffee – He had a weird laugh and for what ever reason – that annoyed me.

Pilot Guy, Sushi – actually funny thing – pilot guy left for about a month just after we met and although we kept in touch I didn’t really consider him to be a potential. Everything about Pilot guy is great – he’s a great guy. LOL I totally underestimated him on our first date – he was way better looking, much more funny, and most importantly so incredibly genuine that easily we have slipped into being friends.

Fire Fighter Guy, coffee. I don’t know – he’s older.. well similar age to Radio Guy, Dealership Guy and City Guy but some how he just seemed older. He was even Catholic but there were no sparks, so nope.

Runner Guy, Sushi. Way too darn young.

Naniamo Guy, Actually this was one of the very best first dates I’ve had. He came to me in my town which is actually not something I normally do and we went hiking. He and I had been talking/texting for quite some time – but to be honest I kinda of thought maybe he was a bit too young for me, similar age to pilot guy. We talked and laughed and actually had a really good connection. He’s a tad immature but physically was attracted to him. He’s outback meets goofy, it’s cute. Bad timing I guess though, because when I met him – we had our first date literally the day before City Guy and I had ours.

Due to the amount of time Radio Guy and I spend together there happened to be much ebb and flow to my dating career. I gave he and I a shot emotionally, I don’t know how to multiply date with intention.. I can easily date multiply in a plutonic way, I am a very social person – but If there are feelings, I do tend to stick with one person to see what happens. It really wasn’t until I knew with certainty that there was nothing between us that I was open to meeting a new person – and being open to more than a friendship.

I know, I know, not very 21st century.

City Guy, As far as first dates go… this one was a good one. We met at 4:10 on a Wednesday afternoon for pre dinner drinks, we kind of had an easy out claus as we had been taking for a bit before the initial “meet up” – had it not gone well, we’d have parted ways after drinks.

He met me in the foyer of his club, thankfully I was dressed appropriately – beautiful shoes and confidence.. I mean really, what else do you need? Oh a smile, I wore that too.

Funny thing, my intuition was screaming that I was about to dive into a shark tank.

I already knew this guy wasn’t like the rest, but then again, neither am I – I am earth and fire.. Mutable and very STRONG. So sharks move over, this I’ve got.

I think the universe was smiling one me, because the oddest thing happened on my way…  Literally three minutes before I walked into the club I was hit on twice in two minutes. You want to talk about a spike in pheromones? City guy really didn’t stand a chance. Even to me, it’s funny.

I walked in and saw him standing up a flight of marble steps and literally the first thing I thought to my self hmm, he’s not horrible.  Haha that ‘s bad I know but we ‘d been talking and I really wasn’t totally sure what he looked like. We said a very intense hello, think breathlessness and fire IMMEDIATELY from him, from me it was awkwrdness and introversion begging for a rock to hide under..  – City Guy introduced me to a business associate that was just leaving and we went out to a patio to get acquainted.

He was rattled and so was I. My hands shook but not like they did with Radio Guy, lol as long as I live I’ll never forget that first date.

IMG_3349

He brought me the most beautiful flowers and a card that read, “There will come a time that we will look back on this day and laugh, Welcome to Vancouver.” He’s a very poetic person, a Libra – the scales – half ALPHA MALE 2.0 & half dead poet society. Could we have found a better balance for me and my Leo cusp self??

Well one hour turned into two and we decided to have dinner. We went to a place called the Flying Pig. Fantastic atmosphere, great wine, delicious halibut. It was easy conversation, lots of laughter and genuine interest in both parties.

It’s interesting how – sometimes all the irregular elements just sort of align. I am going to attribute this to the recent super moon that we experienced this past June 23rd.. as that really was the gravitational shift that begins our story.

As with all REALLY GOOD first dates.. it led to another.

Date Number 2.

IMG_3298

Insert, hiking shoes, lululemon,  a beautiful view. City guy and I were measuring what the other was made of on this date, without a doubt. I to see if he was all talk and trying to impress me like the rest & him – I think the same reason… I am an athlete and so is he. There is NO mistaking that. City guy, for his age, looks good. Abs & beautiful biceps… (One of my favourite body parts are well developed arms & shoulders, so effing sexy.

Date Number 2 started very early the next day we met up for breakfast, and over breakfast we decided to do the infamous “CHIEF“. That was a fabulous day of adventure to which we followed up with the best tasting beer & burgers  (a veggie burger for me – of course) Nothing better than a great work out and a beer to follow. It’s satisfying.

Loved that date, even more than the first! But.. dates and good ones at that ended up leading to more dates so what else were we to do but go on our third date!

Date # 3. We met on commercial drive and had iced coffee on a patio, this day we just talked and talked. LIttle did he know, that is one of my favourite things to do.. talk literature or cinema, politics, or social justice on a patio in the sun with really good coffee. From the coffee shop we decided to go to Beir Craft, more food and a tasting. Funny thing about City Guy, he really is a city guy. Super urban. I never really thought I’d be into a guy like that – there is a bit more to him than that superficial description for sure but hey, we’d just met so what did I know 😉

Right from the word Go I could tell one thing,  City guy was VERY into me, and I on the other hand was was still not totally ready for “relationship“.

Just the word is terrifying.

City guy is DIRECT. He’s a man that knows what he wants and makes darn sure he get it. This on one hand is sooo alluring. I love that confidence, on the other had I am a stuborn scottish virgo/leo and NOBODY tells me what to do.

He likes it. My tenacity I mean. Little does he know though, I’m not playing hard to get, I AM hard to get. 

I think, and this is CRAZY to even admit, but I think he’s falling in love with me. I’ve never really been one to fall in and out of love super easily, but that’s neither here nor there just yet and an entire post of it’s own.

We’re actually on about date number 6 or 7 I think, there is much more to write but this post is coming to you from my workstation and TBH there is very little work at all being done today so I should probably work on that 😉

Hope everyone is having a stellar Monday,

-Miss D xo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

