..radically counter cultural..

Who even lives this today?

Hipsters and Christians? Haha. Or the Christian Hipster. There is such a thing, even a book all about it.

My son – my soon to be 15 year old son says that I am of the above. It’s interesting to surmise that is the view of one so close to me, that, that is actually what he thinks.

Because I dress a certain way, because I call people out – challenging perceptions, proposing love rather than malice or hate? That hardly qualifies the label. That in itself goes against what I believe and stand for. Labels. Boxes. Preconceived beliefs on the ‘should’s’ of the world. It makes me want to scream. Who can even live up to that?!

Radically Counter Cultural is something wholly different than trending a lifestyle choice based on peoples reactions. For that is NOT the reason to become Radically Counter Cultural. I want to live. Simply. I really want to live. I want to thrive and I want my friends and family to thrive, I want the teens I minister to LIVE. We are so caught up in this death culture – consumerism, existentialism, hedonism, materialism. OH. MY. GOD. Help us get out of the death culture of superficiality.

What would happen if everyone unplugged their tv’s, computers, game stations and went outside? What would happen if families sat together in the same room for dinner? What would happen if kids and parents talked and laughed and really listened to one another? What if we didn’t rush and pre-order our new iPhone 5’s. What IF we stopped keeping up with the Jones? Or as I think it’s a bit more relevant – keeping up with the facebookers!!! (that’s a rant for another day)

Where would that leave us?

Lost for sure – for about 3 days. BUT and I challenge you to try it and if you think I am wrong – please feel to tell me – you will find clarity. You will see. REALITY.

This is not what we are made for – it’s a 60 year sweep of ever faster moving technology and development that our humanity is buckling under. We are not made for this world.

It’s a miserable life. We are choosing to live miserable lives of superficiality. It’s intolerable to me. I can’t and won’t do it anymore.

I can’t squeeze one second of happiness out of anything physical in my life. Not anymore. This madness must end.

I really like this quote by Gandhi –

“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. … We need not wait to see what others do.”

It is ME that must change first. It is me that can and will change the world I live in.

My circle of influence is not small. This is something I am very aware of. So in living this radically counter cultural life – it may well be a beckon of hope for the humanity nearest me.

It’s time I say, to LOVE.

Leave a Reply

