..40 days..

How could I ever, how could anyone for that matter doubt the existence of our Heavenly Father? I no longer believe in coincidence, as Albert Einstein put it.. Coincidence is merely God’s way of remaining anonymous. I know better.. I know that everything happens for a reason.

So I am at home with Dd. She has an appointment at 10 40am. Poor girl, she had such trouble sleeping last night, her ear was really sore. We are going to check that out this morning. That was the main reason I was up so late last night, she couldn’t sleep so neither could I.

I woke this morning filled with Hope.. No actually I awoke with a panic, no power. It was silent. I being of the technological age checked my cell for the time and relaxed to find it was only just after 6am. I, after figuring out the power outage was caused by a large fire in our neighborhood, got up and began my day. I don’t know the details of the power outage or the fire. When I called hydro all I got was an automated service.

So Silence was my first gift this morning. As I was getting ready, I thought about today, May the 13th. It feels a little bit like the first day of the rest of my life. Yesterday I was a little bit down. I was a little bit discouraged. I begged for guidance and strength.. What more can I do, I’ll do anything. I am in His hands.

Dh is gone, my good friend is gone. I am on my own for the next 40 days. Don’t you think that’s symbolic. 40 days…

Noah’s life was transformed by 40 days of rain..
Moses was transformed by 40 days on Mount Sinai
David was transformed by Goliath’s 40 day challenge
Jesus was empowered by 40 days in the wilderness
The disciples were transformed by 40 days with Jesus after his resurrection..

Okay so I thought about my appointment a little bit, I’m okay.. It’s scary but its a must. I’ll do it, I am going to be okay no matter what. A little while ago I was walking down my hallway and took a detour to my library closet.. I have a small library that I am building, I went straight there and picked up this book. I didn’t flip through it since I bought it, but decided for what ever reason to open it and have a look. Today, this very morning. I wasn’t planning to read anything this morning, so I don’t really know why I went to the closet.

Listen to the first page. ..

“this book is dedicated to you. Before you were born, God planned this moment in your life. It’s no accident that you are holding this book in your hand. God longs for you to discover the life he created you to live- here on earth, and forever in eternity “

It is in Christ that we find out who we are and what we are living for. Long before we first heard of Christ,… he had his eye on us, had designs on us for glorious living, part of the over all purpose he is working out in everything and everyone..” Ephesians 1:11

“This is more than just a book; it’s a guide to a 40 day spiritual journey that will enable you to discover the answer to life’s most important question: What on earth am I here for? By the end of this journey you will know God’s purpose for your life and will understand the big picture-how all the pieces of your life fit together. Having this perspective will reduce your stress, simplify your decisions, increase your satisfaction and most importantly, prepare you for eternity. The next 40days will transform your life..”

Strange right??

I’ll leave these thoughts for the moment.. Today is the first of forty spiritually significant days..

“Remember WHO IS THE FIRST – entrust Him every moment of your life”

And so we begin… “For everything. absolutely everything, above and below, visible and invisible.. everything got started in Him and finds it’s purpose in Him.” ~Col 1:16

Thought to ponder ~ It’s not about me.

Question to ponder ~ In spite of all the advertising around me, how can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?

