..my journey..

Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth. Whatsoever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him. What so ever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men. ~Colossians

Yesterday was inspiring. I had many moments to think, while my hands remained busy toiling. I was helping to prepare a dinner, a fundraising dinner of baked penne, two types of salad, garlic bread for about 100 people.

The fundraiser was for our Parish Youth Group. We raised nearly $1000.00. Most excellent!!

During the setting up of the tables I was able to have a conversation, with Fr. He was speaking to me about Eternal Happiness. I can’t explain as eloquently as he did yesterday, but he was asking or I should say provoking some tough questions with in myself. What is faith? Among others. Why is there such a duality, faith here.. life over here. Instead of one.

He gave me an analogy, “If I were to be doing dishes, I should put my entire self into the dishes, not letting my mind wander to other things, *I wish I was here, I’d rather be there.. but truly enjoying and paying attention to each moment, offering the time to God, and doing it with all my effort -for God. When I am done with the dishes, the time spent will be spent in a meaningful way. With God.”

He spoke longer and as I said, far more eloquently, but It sure made me consider the way I have been spending my time lately. What is faith to me? I too am on a journey, just considering the last week, I have certainly been living in duality. I am asking for guidance, and if it is His will he can help me to find the path that will lead ultimately to Him.

Who knew, a pasta night could be so profound…

Leave a Reply

